GCSE Music

GCSE Music comprises four Areas of Study (AoS) with accompanying set works, as well as work on music theory and notation.
  • Area of Study 1 is western classical music from 1600 to 1899, covering the Baroque, Classical and Romantic eras;
  • Area of Study 2 is music in the 20th century, covering expressioninsm, serialism and minimalism, as well as musical theatre;
  • Area of Study 3 is popular music in context, covering jazz, rock and club dance; and
  • Area of Study 4 is world music, coving fusion and music from India and Africa.
For each Area of Study there are three set works, making a total of twelve in all.